South Central College

Where do I start?
Online Writing Lab (OWL at Purdue)
This is the starting point for the OWL at Purdue. It's a good source for all aspects of research, writing, and citation.
Research: Where do I begin? (OWL)
This section of the OWL helps students figure out how to start the research process.
Research Project Calculator
This site helps you map out a project from start date to deadline, offering useful tips and a concrete timeline from which to work.
Mind Map- Credo Reference Restricted Resource
The Mind Map tool helps you connect concepts visually. Just type in a keyword, and the tool will map it. You'll need to log in with your StarID and password, if accessing from off campus.
Google Search Tips and Tricks (pdf)
Make Google work for you! Use this document to search Google in a smart and efficient way.
Google Scholar Search Tips
Searching Google Scholar can be challenging. Use this guide for help.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides topics, each with an overview (objective background/ description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. It also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Plagiarism
Understanding Plagiarism (tutorial)
This tutorial produced by Eastern Michigan University puts the concepts of plagiarism into real-life context. It’s set up in a quiz format with closed-captioning.
Did I Plagiarize? (Flowchart)
This flowchart explains the severity of different types of plagiarism.  
Avoiding Plagiarism (OWL at Purdue)
The Purdue OWL is often used by students in all phases of research and writing. This particular module focuses on avoiding plagiarism, recognizing it in someone’s work, strategies to use when taking notes and paraphrasing, as well as a “plagiarism exercise” to illustrate the principles explained earlier.
How do I cite my sources?
EasyBib
This resource allows you to generate an MLA citation from a variety of materials.

Son of Citation Machine
Son of Citation Machine helps you create citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formats. It also has a button called EssayCheck that will allow you to copy and paste your text in to have it checked/scored and get feedback.
APA Style (OWL)
APA In-Text Citation
The College of St. Scholastica in Duluth provides this comprehensive explanation of APA in-text citations, complete with examples.

MLA Style (OWL)
MLA Style Center
‚ÄčThe MLA Style Center, published by the Modern Language Association, is the only authorized Web site about MLA style. This free, evolving resource is designed as a companion to the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.
St. Catherine's guide to Citation Styles (AMA, APA, MLA, etc)
How do I know this information is credible?
Evaluating Sources (OWL)
Use this resource to help you decide if the information you are looking at is credible and appropriate for your research topic.
Research Tutorials (Video)
EBSCO Tutorials
Scroll down the EBSCO list to find the video tutorials you need.
Evaluating Internet Health Information
Teaches the user how to evaluate health information for accuracy.
The Information Cycle
Scholarly Sources vs Popular Sources
Search Library Databases with Google Scholar
Using Wikipedia Wisely
What is a Scholarly Article
What are databases? How do I use them?
Databases are searchable collections of electronic materials. They can be newspapers, magazines, academic journals, or references like dictionaries and encyclopedias. The advantages to using a database instead of a search engine like Google are:
1) The information has already been evaluated for credibility.
2) Databases contain sophisticated tools to help you narrow your search without having to "speak computer." 
3) Much of the information in databases can't be found with a Google search. They are part of the "invisible web." 

Please refer to the Research Tutorials (Video) section for help in using the databases.

Book Search

Limit to movies and video


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Faibault Campus
1225 Third Street SW
Faribault, MN 55021
Toll Free: 800-442-0391

North Mankato
1920 Lee Boulevard
North Mankato, MN 56003
Local: 507-389-7200
Toll Free 800-722-9359

South Central Online
Web: online.southcentral.edu
Email: online@southcentral.edu
Login: Desire2Learn

For TTY communication, contact the Minnesota Relay Service at 7-1-1 or 1-800-627-3529.
SCC is an affirmative action equal opportunity employer/educator. Non Discrimination Policy
Home  |   Sitemap
Copyright © 1995-2014 South Central College . All Rights Reserved
Member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System