South Central College

Reference and Facts
Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Websites
American Indian Health
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, this site collects and distributes information regarding Native health and related issues, including policies, consumer health, information, and research.
American Psychological Association
Official web site of the American Psychological Association.
Mental Health Associaton of Minnesota
The Mental Health Association of Minnesota helps individuals to access services, or problem-solve a situation, on a one-to-one basis.
History of Psychology
This site serves as a gateway to over 1000 sites regarding the history of psychology.
National Alliance on Mental Illness
National Alliance on Mental Illness is the "nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness." 
National Library of Medicine
National Library of Medicine serves as a national information resource for the public, patients, and families by providing electronic access to reliable health information issued by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources.
PsycPORT
The APA's source for sharing current news regarding psychology.
Call Numbers to Browse
Psychology books are generally located in the BF section of the SCC library stacks. If you are specifically looking for books related to medical aspects of psychiatry, RC is the section to browse. Other related areas: psychology of gender would be in HQ, psychology of learning would be in LB, and industrial/organizational psychology would be under HF5549.
Search Databases for Articles
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
A source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource, (formerly titled Psychology Journals) provides citations, abstracts and selected full text articles on psychology and related disciplines.
Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource
A resource for Community Social Services students, this database contains only abstracts (summaries). If you'd like to request the article and are unfamiliar with interlibrary loan, please contact a librarian.
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.

 
Book Search

Limit to movies and video


Streaming Video
Films on Demand Restricted Resource
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Video Lectures Unrestricted Resource
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
Yovisto- Academic Video Search Unrestricted Resource
Yovisto is a video search engine specialized on educational video content. It is helpful for students or common interested peoples to looking for online lectures and educational video. Yovisto allows searching within videos. 
DSM-5

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders fifth edition is available in print in both SCC libraries at this call number: RC455.2.C4 D54 2013.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Faibault Campus
1225 Third Street SW
Faribault, MN 55021
Toll Free: 800-442-0391

North Mankato
1920 Lee Boulevard
North Mankato, MN 56003
Local: 507-389-7200
Toll Free 800-722-9359

South Central Online
Web: online.southcentral.edu
Email: online@southcentral.edu
Login: Desire2Learn

For TTY communication, contact the Minnesota Relay Service at 7-1-1 or 1-800-627-3529.
SCC is an affirmative action equal opportunity employer/educator. Non Discrimination Policy
Home  |   Sitemap
Copyright © 1995-2014 South Central College . All Rights Reserved
Member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System