South Central College

Reference and Facts
BBC Country Profiles
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions."
Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Data.gov
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
Official Agency and Organization Web Sites
American Geographical Society
The American Geographical Society (AGS) advances and promotes geography in business, government, science, and education.  
Association of American Geographers
The Association of American Geographers  is a nonprofit scientific and educational society founded in 1904. For more than 100 years the AAG has contributed to the advancement of geography
International Data Base
The U.S.Census Bureau's database is a resource for demographic data on countries and areas of the world.Browsable by country or by region, the data can be outputted to Excel or CSV files.
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
U.S. Geological Survey
Unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water.
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Search Databases for Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
General Science Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A well rounded science collection of in-depth information for scientific research needs. This consists of over 200 journal references encompassing the most popular scientific titles.
Websites
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Global Climate Change
NASA's site, subtitled "Vital Signs of the Planet" provides scientific evidence of global climate change.
National Geographic
National Geographic supports critical expeditions and scientific fieldwork, encourages geography education for students,and promotes natural and cultural conservation.
NASA images
The site contains everything from classic photos to educational programming and HD video, and is growing all the time.
NASA Earth Observatory
Contains images from NASA's files including world maps and natural hazards.
Nature Conservancy
The Nature Conservancy — the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people.
World Digital Libray
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress.The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.
Related Guides
Book Search

Limit to movies and video


Streaming Video
Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Video Lectures
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
Yovisto- Academic Video Search
Yovisto is a video search engine specialized on educational video content. It is helpful for students or common interested peoples to looking for online lectures and educational video. Yovisto allows searching within videos. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Faibault Campus
1225 Third Street SW
Faribault, MN 55021
Toll Free: 800-442-0391

North Mankato
1920 Lee Boulevard
North Mankato, MN 56003
Local: 507-389-7200
Toll Free 800-722-9359

South Central Online
Web: online.southcentral.edu
Email: online@southcentral.edu
Login: Desire2Learn

For TTY communication, contact the Minnesota Relay Service at 7-1-1 or 1-800-627-3529.
SCC is an affirmative action equal opportunity employer/educator. Non Discrimination Policy
Home  |   Sitemap
Copyright © 1995-2014 South Central College . All Rights Reserved
Member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System