South Central College

Search Databases for Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
General Science Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A well rounded science collection of in-depth information for scientific research needs. This consists of over 200 journal references encompassing the most popular scientific titles.
PLoS
PLoS (Public Library of Science) is a non-profit publisher of Open Access materials in the scientific arena.
Reference and Facts
Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Chemical and Drug Information Unrestricted Resource
Part of National Library of Medicine. Information on 400,000+ chemicals including synonyms and structures.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
A comprehensive research database that provides full text access to science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Websites
American Elements
This website is very useful for readers seeking information on the chemical elements.
Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry
Eric Weisstein's World of Science is written and maintained by the author as a public service for scientific knowledge and education. Although it is often difficult to find explanations for technical subjects that are both clear and accessible, this web site bridges the gap by placing an interlinked framework of mathematical exposition and illustrative examples at the fingertips of every internet user.
KnowledgeDoor
This site provides many different types of conversion charts and calculators for math and science students.
National Academy of Sciences
The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the public good.
Photographic Periodic Table of the Elements
There's a whole lot of stuff here, many thousands of pages of text, stories, pictures, and data. Most of it you get to by clicking on the individual elements on the front page, or using the navigation bar the top of nearly every page.
PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay
Science Research
ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine.
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
 
Related Guides
Book Search

Limit to movies and video


Streaming Video
Films on Demand Restricted Resource
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Video Lectures Unrestricted Resource
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
Video Version of Periodical Table Unrestricted Resource
A high tech periodical table with clickable video clips about each element.
World of Chemistry Unrestricted Resource
The World of Chemistry is appropriate for students taking high school or college chemistry, from introductory to advanced levels, and is easily applicable to different teaching approaches. It includes physics and Earth science components, and is also valuable for teachers seeking to review the subject matter.
Yovisto- Academic Video Search Unrestricted Resource
Yovisto is a video search engine specialized on educational video content. It is helpful for students or common interested peoples to looking for online lectures and educational video. Yovisto allows searching within videos. 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Faibault Campus
1225 Third Street SW
Faribault, MN 55021
Toll Free: 800-442-0391

North Mankato
1920 Lee Boulevard
North Mankato, MN 56003
Local: 507-389-7200
Toll Free 800-722-9359

South Central Online
Web: online.southcentral.edu
Email: online@southcentral.edu
Login: Desire2Learn

For TTY communication, contact the Minnesota Relay Service at 7-1-1 or 1-800-627-3529.
SCC is an affirmative action equal opportunity employer/educator. Non Discrimination Policy
Home  |   Sitemap
Copyright © 1995-2014 South Central College . All Rights Reserved
Member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System