South Central College

Reference and Facts
A.D.A.M Medical Encyclopedia Unrestricted Resource
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Human Anatomy Online Unrestricted Resource
An inner exploration of Human Anatomy. Each topic has animations, 100’s of graphics, and thousands of descriptive links.

Medical Encyclopedia Unrestricted Resource
Developed by the University of Maryland, part of the Medical Reference section of the university's medically reviewed health content for consumers.
Oral Health
Informatin published by the Mayo Clinic regarding oral health.
Career Resources
CAREERwise Education
A Minnesota State Colleges and Universities resource for career information and planning.
Dental Assistant Licensing Information
Maintained by the State of Minnesota, this site contains information you need about being licensed.
GPS LifePlan
"The GPS LifePlan helps students set goals and design plans that will lead them to the success they desire."
Resume' Help (Videos) Restricted Resource
This is a collection of video segments about building and writing your resume'.
Search Databases/Journals for Articles
Databases Containing Information About Dentistry
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Database with full text, providing authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource
Provides full text content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspective of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
Health Source: Nursing /Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including scholarly research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
PubMed Unrestricted Resource
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Specific Journals Related to Dentistry
Journal of Periodontology Restricted Resource
Established in 1930 as the official publication of the AAP, the Journal of Periodontology (JOP) publishes original papers of the highest scientific quality to support the practice, education, and research in the dental specialty of periodontics.-- from the website
Journal of the American Dental Association (JADA) Restricted Resource
​​Definitive source of information on oral care and dental-related research; it supports the role of the dentist in the health care community, embracing new technological advances and translating important research into practical applications.

Northwest Dentistry Restricted Resource
Journal of the Minnesota Dental Association.
Special Care in Dentistry Restricted Resource
Special Care in Dentistry is the official journal of the Special Care Dentistry Association. It is the only journal published in North America devoted to improving oral health in people with special needs.-- from the website
Websites
American Dental Association
Founded in 1859, the not-for-profit American Dental Association is the nation's largest dental association, representing more than 159,000 dentist members. --from the website
American Dental Hygienists' Association
ADHA believes in helping dental hygienists achieve their full potential as they seek to improve the public’s oral health. We support your goals by helping to ensure access to quality oral health care; promoting dental hygiene education, licensure, practice and research; and representing your legislative interests at the local, state and federal levels. --from the website
Dimensions of Dental Hygiene
Dimensions of Dental Hygiene is committed to the highest standards of professionalism, accuracy and integrity in our mission of education supporting oral health care professionals and those allied with the dental industry.--from the website
Minnesota Dental Association
​The Minnesota Dental Association is a statewide professional membership organization representing Minnesota-licensed dentists and dental students, with a membership of over 3,000 dentists. --from the website
Accessing Library Resources
When off campus, you can access our resources using your Star ID login/password, or the 14 digit number on the back of your student ID card. If you use that number, your password is your last name.
Need help? Contact us! 
library@southcentral.edu
Book Search

Limit to movies and video


eBooks, Videos, and Images
Dentistry-related eBooks at SCC Restricted Resource
This link will search the SCC Libraries' EBSCO eBooks related to dentistry. .
Films on Demand: Health and Medicine Restricted Resource
This link will take you to the Health and Medicine subject page. There, you can search within that collection for anything related to dentistry.
Nursing Education in Video Restricted Resource
This collection has videos relating to HIPAA and medical ethics.
Public Health Image Library
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. (The search uses MeSH terms)


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Faibault Campus
1225 Third Street SW
Faribault, MN 55021
Toll Free: 800-442-0391

North Mankato
1920 Lee Boulevard
North Mankato, MN 56003
Local: 507-389-7200
Toll Free 800-722-9359

South Central Online
Web: online.southcentral.edu
Email: online@southcentral.edu
Login: Desire2Learn

For TTY communication, contact the Minnesota Relay Service at 7-1-1 or 1-800-627-3529.
SCC is an affirmative action equal opportunity employer/educator. Non Discrimination Policy
Home  |   Sitemap
Copyright © 1995-2014 South Central College . All Rights Reserved
Member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System