South Central College

Websites
American Communication Association (ACA)
"The ACA is a not-for-profit virtual professional association with actual presence in the world of communication scholars and practitioners."
Center for Media Literacy
The Center for Media Literacy's mission is to provide educational resources and promote media literacy education. 
Reference and Facts
Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
 
Streaming Video
Films on Demand Restricted Resource
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Yovisto- Academic Video Search Unrestricted Resource
Yovisto is a video search engine specialized on educational video content. It is helpful for students or common interested peoples to looking for online lectures and educational video. Yovisto allows searching within videos. 
Search Databases for Research Articles
Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides academic and scholarly content focused on the fields of Communication and Mass Media. This should be the first choice of students in communication classes when research articles are required.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
A source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource, (formerly titled Psychology Journals) provides citations, abstracts and selected full text articles on psychology and related disciplines.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Search Databases for General Information

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary full text of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
ProQuest Newsstand Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
EBSCO eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
SCC's collection of electronic books can be searched in this database.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides topics, each with an overview (objective background/ description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. It also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Related Guides
Book Search

Limit to movies and video


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Faibault Campus
1225 Third Street SW
Faribault, MN 55021
Toll Free: 800-442-0391

North Mankato
1920 Lee Boulevard
North Mankato, MN 56003
Local: 507-389-7200
Toll Free 800-722-9359

South Central Online
Web: online.southcentral.edu
Email: online@southcentral.edu
Login: Desire2Learn

For TTY communication, contact the Minnesota Relay Service at 7-1-1 or 1-800-627-3529.
SCC is an affirmative action equal opportunity employer/educator. Non Discrimination Policy
Home  |   Sitemap
Copyright © 1995-2014 South Central College . All Rights Reserved
Member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System