South Central College

Reference and Facts
Artcyclopedia : The fine art search engine
An art-focused search engine geared for searching by artist.
Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Getty Research Portal
"The Getty Research Portal provides access to digitized resources for the printed literature of art, including fundamental texts, rare books, exhibition catalogues, auction catalogues, and related literature."
Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
Art History and Artifacts
American Memory from the Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Art History
Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook.We created audios and videos about works of art found in standard art history survey texts, organized the files stylistically and chronologically, and added text and still images.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection.
Rosetti Archive
The Rossetti Archive facilitates the scholarly study of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, the painter, designer, writer, and translator who was, according to both John Ruskin and Walter Pater, the most important and original artistic force in the second half of the nineteenth century in Great Britain.
Women Art Revolution
A collection of interviews with artists and critics that documents the history of the feminist art movement of the 1970's. Stanford University.
Search Databases for Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
Art Galleries and Image Collections
American Museum of Natural History Digital Special Collections
Includes images of the museum's archival photographs, art, ephemera, and rare book illustrations. This collection contains nearly 8,000 images.
AICT: Art Images for College Teaching
This collection of art is maintained by volunteers from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD) and is dedicated to the principle of "free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community." -- AICT
CAMIO Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Catalog of Art Museum Images. Includes works of art from around the world, highlighting the various cultures, from prehistoric to contemporary times and covering a range of expressive forms.

Dutch Paintings of the Seventeenth Century
Part of the Getty Foundation's Online Scholarly Catalogue Initiative. This web resource is based on the 1995 print edition of the same name.
Google Art Project
"Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces." --from Google Art Project.
Harvard Art Museums
A site that combines three museums: the Fogg Museum (Western European Art from the Middle Ages to the present), the Busch-Reisinger Museum (focus on art from German-speaking countries), and Arthur M. Sackler Museum (primarily Asian, Middle Eastern, and Mediterranean works).
International Center of Photography
ICP is a center where photographers and artists, students and scholars can create and interpret the world of the image.  
Minnesota Reflections
Minnesota Reflections, which is more than 10 years old, is a project of the Minnesota Digital Library. The collection brings you more than 135,000 images, maps and documents from more than 150 of the state's cultural heritage organizations.
National Gallery- London, England
"The National Gallery houses the national collection of paintings in the Western European tradition from the 13th to the 19th centuries."
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery of Art was created in 1937 for the people of the United States of America by a joint resolution of Congress, accepting the gift of financier and art collector Andrew W. Mellon. During the 1920s, Mr. Mellon began collecting with the intention of forming a gallery of art for the nation in Washington.
NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 28.400 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available.
Wellcome Images
Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
eBooks and Books about Art
Renaissance Art: a beginner's guide Restricted Resource
"The 15th century saw the evolution of a distinct and powerfully influential European culture. But what does the familiar phrase “Renaissance Art” actually describe? Through engaging discussion of timeless works by artists such as Jan van Eyck, Leonardo da Vinci, and Michelangelo, Nichols produces a masterpiece of his own as he explores the truly original and diverse character of the artistic Renaissance." -- from the EBSCO record
Italian Renaissance Art
An introduction to the Italian Renaissance that opens with the late Byzantine work of Cimabue and concludes with the transition to Mannerism.
Bridgeman Images: The Bridgeman Art Library Restricted Resource
A unique and comprehensive collection of art masterpieces of all varieties: historical, European, Asian, American, and more.
Art: a visual history
Art: A Visual History is the complete visual guide to Western art.
Related Guides
Book Search

Limit to movies and video


Streaming Video
Films on Demand: Art and Architecture Restricted Resource
A collection of over 1,000 streaming videos on the topics of Art and Architecture.
Yovisto- Academic Video Search
Yovisto is a video search engine specialized on educational video content. It is helpful for students or common interested peoples to looking for online lectures and educational video. Yovisto allows searching within videos. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Faibault Campus
1225 Third Street SW
Faribault, MN 55021
Toll Free: 800-442-0391

North Mankato
1920 Lee Boulevard
North Mankato, MN 56003
Local: 507-389-7200
Toll Free 800-722-9359

South Central Online
Web: online.southcentral.edu
Email: online@southcentral.edu
Login: Desire2Learn

For TTY communication, contact the Minnesota Relay Service at 7-1-1 or 1-800-627-3529.
SCC is an affirmative action equal opportunity employer/educator. Non Discrimination Policy
Home  |   Sitemap
Copyright © 1995-2014 South Central College . All Rights Reserved
Member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System