South Central College

Databases
ABCDEFGHIKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

A.D.A.M Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Accountants and Auditors
Current statistics about accounting-related careers.
Accounting Coach
AccountingCoach.com is designed to help people without an accounting background easily understand accounting concepts.
Accounting Terminology Guide
The NYSSCPA has prepared this glossary as an educational tool for journalists who report on and interpret financial information. Useful for accounting students.
ADL Curriculum Connections
Curriculum Connections is a collection of original lesson plans and resources that help K-12 educators integrate multicultural, anti-bias, and social justice themes into their curricula.
Africa South of the Sahara
Africa South of the Sahara is a an online guide to resources, prepared and maintained by Karen Fung at Stanford University Libraries. Users can browse by country, topic, or search this site which highlights useful print and electronic materials, including descriptive annotations.
AGRIS
AGRIS is a global public domain Database with 2816958 structured bibliographical records on agricultural science and technology. 79.7% of records are citations from scientific journals. The bibliographic references contain either links to the full text of the publication or additional information retrieved from related Internet resources.
ALT HealthWatch
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
AMA Style Help
American Medical Association style, or AMA style, refers to the styling of journal manuscripts described in the AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors.
American Association of Medical Assistants
The mission of the American Association of Medical Assistants is to provide the medical assistant professional with education, certification, credential acknowledgment, networking opportunities, scope-of-practice protection, and advocacy for quality patient-centered health care.
American FactFinder
The Census Bureau conducts nearly one hundred surveys and censuses every year. That information is available on this website.
American Heritage Medical Dictionary, SCC North Mankato Library Reference REF 610.3 AME

American Indian Health
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, this site collects and distributes information regarding Native health and related issues, including policies, consumer health, information, and research.
American Institute of Physics
AIP is a not-for-profit membership corporation created for the purpose of promoting the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics and its application to human welfare. It is the mission of the Institute to serve the sciences of physics and astronomy by serving its member societies, by serving individual scientists, and by serving students and the general public.
American Journeys
American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.
American Memory from the Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
American Nurses Association

American Pharmaceutical Association
The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) is the organization whose members are recognized in society as essential in all patient care settings for optimal medication use that improves health, wellness, and quality of life.
American Psychological Association
Official web site of the American Psychological Association.
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) is the membership organization that works on behalf of pharmacists who practice in hospitals and health systems
APA Dictionary of Psychology, SCC Library Reference Collections
Dictionary of psychology terms.
APA Style
The American Psychological Association has established a style that it uses in all of the books and journals that it publishes. Many others working in the social and behavioral sciences have adopted this style as their standard as well.
Arecibo Observatory
The radiotelescope based in Puerto Rico responsible for the feed to SETI@Home.
Art History
Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook.We created audios and videos about works of art found in standard art history survey texts, organized the files stylistically and chronologically, and added text and still images.
Astrobiology Web
General gateway site to many resources and articles on astrobiology.
Avibase
Information about 10,000 species of birds including distribution, taxonomy and synonyms.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business Source Premier
Business research database with full text and peer-reviewed titles on all aspects of business.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business Source Premier: Business Search Interface
Database of economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
BusinessDictionary.com
BusinessDictionary.com features over 20,000 terms and over 115,000 links between related terms providing a clear and concise description of any and all business terms.
Calculus Animations
Calculus Animations,Graphics and Lecture Notes
CAMIO
A Catalog of Art Museum Images. Includes works of art from around the world, highlighting the various cultures, from prehistoric to contemporary times and covering a range of expressive forms.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
This website offers a comprehensive, up-to-date, and easy-to-use collection of more than 20,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education.
Children's Defense Fund- Minnesota

Chronicling America
From the Library of Congress, search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Includes many Minnesota newspapers.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Database with full text, providing authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Civil War 150: National Portrait Gallery
The exhibitions complement the installation of Civil War portraits and related objects that are on display in the The National Portrait Gallery’s “American Origins” exhibition which charts the nation's story from pre-colonial days through the end of the nineteenth century.
College Drinking Prevention
CollegeDrinkingPrevention.gov is your one-stop resource for comprehensive research-based information on issues related to alcohol abuse and binge drinking among college students.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
This database provides academic and scholarly content focused on the fields of Communication and Mass Media. This should be the first choice of students in communication classes when research articles are required.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Consumer Health Complete
Provides full text content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspective of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
Restricted Resource
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Davis's comprehensive handbook of laboratory and diagnostic tests, SCC North Mankato Library 616.07 VAN

Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Doing What Works
Sponsored by US Department of Education, this site provides information on effective teaching practices, assisting teachers with the practical side of how to implement NCLB concepts.
Drug Information Online
Drugs.com is the most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. This site provides free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.
Earth Justice
Earthjustice is a non-profit public interest law firm dedicated to protecting the magnificent places, natural resources, and wildlife of this earth, and to defending the right of all people to a healthy environment.
EarthScape.org
EarthScape is a comprehensive aggregation of resources in the Earth and Environmental Sciences. The four sections of the compass give you – the teacher, student, scientist, or decision-maker – instant access to the tools you need to understand our planet.
EBSCO eBooks
SCC's collection of electronic books can be searched in this database.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO MegaFile
Interdisciplinary index of magazines and major academic journals with full text
Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO Tutorials
Scroll down the EBSCO list to find the video tutorials you need.
Resource contains images Resource contains video
Ecological Internet
Your Complete Source for Environmental Sustainability News and Action, Expert Analysis, Information Retrieval Tools, Portal Services, and Web Site and Campaign Consulting
Encyclopedia of Psychology
A frequently updated webpage that allows for easy searching. Eight section headings allow you to click on the desired resources and you will be directed to various websites.
Energy Information Association
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
Environmental Defense Fund
Environmental Defense is dedicated to protecting the environmental rights of all people, including future generations. Among these rights are access to clean air and water, healthy and nourishing food, and flourishing ecosystems.
Environmental Literacy Council
Virtual library for educators and students offers cross-disciplinary environmental resources -over 1000 pages of background information and resources along with curricular materials and textbook reviews.
Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry
Eric Weisstein's World of Science is written and maintained by the author as a public service for scientific knowledge and education. Although it is often difficult to find explanations for technical subjects that are both clear and accessible, this web site bridges the gap by placing an interlinked framework of mathematical exposition and illustrative examples at the fingertips of every internet user.
Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
Eric Weisstein's World of Science is written and maintained by the author as a public service for scientific knowledge and education. Although it is often difficult to find explanations for technical subjects that are both clear and accessible, this web site bridges the gap by placing an interlinked framework of mathematical exposition and illustrative examples at the fingertips of every internet user.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Interdisciplinary full text of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Expanded Academic ASAP
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Exploring Life's Origins
The goal of this project is to use molecular illustration and animation to help describe origins of life research and theories to broad audiences. This website is part of a multimedia exhibit at the Museum of Science.
Fed in Print
This database provides access to research published by the Board of Governors and all 12 Federal Reserve Banks. Coverage includes the core economic reviews, as well as specialized regional and international publications, working papers, and annual report essays. Also included are selected speeches, community development publications, and conference papers.
Federal Reserve System Online
The Federal Reserve is the central bank of the United States. The Fed has web sites that are national in scope and regional.
Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Restricted Resource
Forest History Society
The Forest History Society is a nonprofit library and archive dedicated to collecting, preserving, and disseminating forest and conservation history for all to use.
Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute

FRASER
FRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents. 
Garbl's Writing Center
Free portal to these writing tools: an annotated directory of writing resources on the Web an editorial style manual several guides to concise writing a bookshelf of writing references
General Science Collection
A well rounded science collection of in-depth information for scientific research needs. This consists of over 200 journal references encompassing the most popular scientific titles.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
glbtq
The encyclopedia's Literature, Arts, and Social Sciences Departments feature more than 2.2 million words in nearly 2000 signed entries. Hundreds of complementary illustrations help showcase the lives and contributions of thousands of glbtq people who have influenced society through literature, the arts, law, politics and more.
Global Climate Change
NASA's site, subtitled "Vital Signs of the Planet" provides scientific evidence of global climate change.
GlobalHealth.gov
The United States Department of Health and Human Services  is the U.S. government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans. HHS provides essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves. The Office of Global Affairs is part of the HHS Office of the Secretary. OGA promotes the health and well-being of Americans and of the world’s population by advancing HHS’s global strategies and partnerships and working with USG agencies in the coordination of global health policy.  
Google Art Project
"Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces." --from Google Art Project.
GPO Monthly Catalog
Covers all types of U.S. governments documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issues by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc).
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Health Finder
An encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics from the most trusted sources.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides access to many full-text, consumer health magazines, and searchable full text for current, health-related pamphlets and health reference books. Also includes Clinical Reference Systems reports, the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, and the Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Health Source: Nursing /Academic Edition
Provides scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection.
History Study Center
A collection of sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Human Anatomy Online
An inner exploration of Human Anatomy. Each topic has animations, 100’s of graphics, and thousands of descriptive links.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
Informe
Provides citations, abstracts and full text to articles in Hispanic magazines, covering topics in business, culture, current topics, health and technology.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
International Children's Digital Library
"The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. Ultimately, the Foundation aspires to have every culture and language represented so that every child can know and appreciate the riches of children's literature from the world community." -- Quote from http://en.childrenslibrary.org/about/mission.shtml
International Energy Agency
The International Energy Agency (IEA) is an intergovernmental organisation which acts as energy policy advisor to 28 member countries in their effort to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for their citizens.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy  was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Kids Count Databook
Get the latest data on 10 indicators of child well-being for U.S. states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, and find out how your state ranks overall.
Library Catalog
Use this link to search the SCC library's resources. Find books and other non-print items.
LORE
The companion to literary study, updated every month and featuring the latest criticism, leading reference titles and biographies.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Math Help
A website that is changing the way America thinks about and learns math. Presented / created by SchoolVids, LLC, MathVids.com combines math education and video file sharing capabilities, bringing a fresh approach to the strategy of teaching to many different types of learners.
Mayo Clinic
The official website of the Mayo Clinic.
MedEd Portal
MedEdPORTAL is a free peer-reviewed publication service and repository for medical and oral health teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty development resources.
Medical Encyclopedia
Developed by the University of Maryland, part of the Medical Reference section of the university's medically reviewed health content for consumers.
MEDLINE
Provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including scholarly research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. This resource has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Medscape
Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals integrated medical information and educational tools.
Mental Health Associaton of Minnesota
The Mental Health Association of Minnesota helps individuals to access services, or problem-solve a situation, on a one-to-one basis.
Merck Manual
The Merck Manual Online is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions.
Some full text available
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
The medical section of this dictionary is broken down by specialty.
Microbial Life
This site contains a variety of educational and supporting materials for students and teachers of microbiology. 
Minnesota Board of Nursing

Minnesota Board of Pharmacy
Users will find information regarding the activities of the Board, pharmacy regulations for the State of Minnesota, and points of contact for the Board and staff.
Minnesota Department of Health

Minnesota Institute of Public Health
The Minnesota Institute of Public Health promotes public health by collaborating with communities to create and provide innovative and culturally appropriate prevention services and products worldwide.
Minnesota Licensed Family Child Care Association
A professional family child care organization of licensed family child care providers serving children and family child care providers.
Minnesota Nurses Association

Minnesota Pharmacists Association
The Minnesota Pharmacists Association is a state professional association, whose membership is made up of pharmacists, pharmacy students, pharmacy technicians, and those with a business interest in pharmacy.
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Working with Minnesotans to protect, conserve and improve our environment and enhance our quality of life.
Minnesota Reflections
Minnesota Reflections, which is more than 10 years old, is a project of the Minnesota Digital Library. The collection brings you more than 135,000 images, maps and documents from more than 150 of the state's cultural heritage organizations.
Minnesota School Age Care Alliance and the Minnesota Association for the Education of Young Children
Combined web pages of the Minnesota School Age Care Alliance (MNSACA) and the Minnesota Association for the Education of Young Children (MNAEYC).
Minnesota Society of Health-System Pharmacists
MSHP's mission is to provide visible leadership, education, advocacy, and networking opportunities that support you, our MSHP members, to help our patients make the best use of their medications.
Minnesota Society of Medical Assistants
The mission of the American Association of Medical Assistants is to enable medical assisting professionals to enhance and demonstrate the knowledge, skills and professionalism required by employers and patients; protect medical assistants' right to practice; and promote effective, efficient health care delivery through optimal use of multiskilled Certified Medical Assistants (CMAs).
MnLINK
Use this catalog to find items in libraries of Minnesota.
MnPALS
Use this link to find materials in other Minnesota college libraries.
Modern Language Association

Mosby's Nursing Drug Reference, SCC Faribault Library Reference RM301.12.S55 2012

My Health Minnesota
A database of health services throughout Minnesota, sponsored by the University of Minnesota Health Sciences Libraries and the Mayo Clinic Libraries in collaboration with the National Library of Medicine.
NASA images
The site contains everything from classic photos to educational programming and HD video, and is growing all the time.
National Alliance on Mental Illness
National Alliance on Mental Illness is the "nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness." 
National Association for the Education of Young Children
The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) is dedicated to improving the well-being of all young children, with particular focus on the quality of educational and developmental services for all children from birth through age 8.
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy
The National Association of Boards of Pharmacy is an impartial professional organization that supports the state boards of pharmacy in creating uniform regulations to protect public health.
National Center for Appropriate Technology
Since 1976 the National Center for Appropriate Technology has been serving economically disadvantaged people by providing information and access to appropriate technologies that can help improve their lives.
National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health
The Center collaborates with a broad range of federal agencies, corporate and philanthropic partners, professional organizations, and academic institutions to provide resources geared to a broad audiences.
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery of Art was created in 1937 for the people of the United States of America by a joint resolution of Congress, accepting the gift of financier and art collector Andrew W. Mellon. During the 1920s, Mr. Mellon began collecting with the intention of forming a gallery of art for the nation in Washington.
National Geographic
National Geographic supports critical expeditions and scientific fieldwork, encourages geography education for students,and promotes natural and cultural conservation.
National Healthcareer Association- Pharmacy Technician
This site will help with the process for attaining(ExCPT) Pharmacy Technician Certification.
National Institute for Early Education Research

National Institute of Mental Health
The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.
National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
National Library of Medicine
National Library of Medicine serves as a national information resource for the public, patients, and families by providing electronic access to reliable health information issued by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources.
National Mental Health Consumers' Self- Help Clearinghouse

National Museum of Health and Medicine
The National Museum of Health and Medicine of the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology inspires interest in and promotes the understanding of medicine -- past, present, and future -- with a special emphasis on tri-service American military medicine.
Natural Resources Conservation Service
Natural Resources Conservation Service provides leadership in a partnership effort to help America's private land owners and managers conserve their soil, water, and other natural resources.
Nature Conservancy
The Nature Conservancy — the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people.
NGC-National Guideline Clearinghouse
​NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
NIST Digital Archives
The NIST Digital Archives (NDA) present images of NIST Museum artifacts and full-text NIST publications. The images showcase the scientific instruments on display in the NIST Museum located on the NIST campus in Gaithersburg, Maryland. The publications include the Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, which covers the broad range of research undertaken by NIST research staff, focusing on measurement methodology.
NLM Digital Collection
NLM historical collections include selected digitized material relating to the history of medicine. Chosen from the manuscripts and books collections, the prints and photographs collection, historical films and videos, current and past exhibitions, and the Digital Manuscripts Program, these digitized materials cover a spectrum of centuries and cultures from medieval Islam to contemporary biomedical research.
NoveList
Database with content of interest to pleasure readers, i.e. author read-a-likes.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Formerly Nursing & Allied Health Source, this resource provides citations, abstracts and select full-text articles about all aspects of nursing and allied health. A great source for evidence-based research articles. Also has thousands of Medcom/Trainex videos to embed in presentations and lessons.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Nursing Education in Video
Nursing Education in Video is an online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
Restricted Resource
Nursing Herbal Medicine Handbook, SCC North Mankato Library 615.535 NUR

Nutrition.Gov
Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.
NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Occupation Finder
U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics. Find salary information, growth rates of professions, and other important data regarding careers.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information
OSTI is the US Department of Energy office that collects, preserves, and disseminates DOE-sponsored R&D results that are the outcomes of R&D projects or other funded activities at DOE labs and facilities nationwide and grantees at universities and other institutions. The information is typically in the form of technical documents, conference papers, articles, and software, collectively referred to as scientific and technical information
Online Resources for Writers
Linking to resources at academic institutions across the US, the site provides quick, easy access to instruction in all phases of the writing process, from creating a thesis for an academic essay to using and documenting sources.
Online Writing Lab (OWL at Purdue)
This is the starting point for the OWL at Purdue. It's a good source for all aspects of research, writing, and citation.
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

Personality Project
These pages are meant to guide those interested in personality theory and research to the current personality research literature.
Pharmacy Technician Certification Board
Since 1995, PTCB has advocated for a single national standard for pharmacy technician certification that is recognized and supported by the profession. Establishing a national standard for pharmacy technician certification through PTCB is consistent with the approach used by other health professions, including the pharmacist licensure process.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers.
Photographic Periodic Table of the Elements
There's a whole lot of stuff here, many thousands of pages of text, stories, pictures, and data. Most of it you get to by clicking on the individual elements on the front page, or using the navigation bar the top of nearly every page.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides topics, each with an overview (objective background/ description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. It also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Political Database of the Americas
Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
Pronunciation Dictionary
A free online Talking Dictionary of English Pronunciation
ProQuest Newsstand Complete
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycARTICLES
A source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Psych Central
Independent mental health social network created and run by mental health professionals to guarantee reliable, trusted information and support communities.
Psychology Database
This resource, (formerly titled Psychology Journals) provides citations, abstracts and selected full text articles on psychology and related disciplines.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycPORT
The APA's source for sharing current news regarding psychology.
Public Health Image Library
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. (The search uses MeSH terms)
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Reference USA
A provider of business and consumer information for students, job seekers and researchers.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Regional Business News
Regional Business database with full text coverage of journals, newspapers and newswires.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Rosetti Archive
The Rossetti Archive facilitates the scholarly study of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, the painter, designer, writer, and translator who was, according to both John Ruskin and Walter Pater, the most important and original artistic force in the second half of the nineteenth century in Great Britain.
RxList
RxList, owned and operated by WebMD, is an online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs.
Sample Record
Here you can enter a description of the record.  A description may be overwritten for a given subject by clicking the icon next to the desired subject in the Record screen.

Science Reference Center
A comprehensive research database that provides full text access to science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. 
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Research
ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine.
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
SETI League
Non-profit organization, primarily of amateur radio astronomers interested in coordinating a private effort (Project Argus) of small radio telescopes in a SETI search.
Skin Cancer Net
The American Academy of Dermatology news releases to keep the public up-to-date on significant research advances, new treatment options, and other newsworthy events in dermatology.
Student Resources in Context
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
Restricted Resource
Tax and Accounting Sites Directory
Tax and Accounting Sites Directory is a comprehensive index of web-based tax and accounting resources. The directory is designed to be a starting point for people who are searching for tax and accounting information, products, and services.
The Cambridge guide to literature in English., North Mankato Campus

U.S. Census of Agriculture
The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.
U.S. Department of Agriculture

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

U.S. Department of Treasury
The official site for the U.S. Treasury. Includes educational resources.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Environmental Protection Agency is working for a cleaner, healthier environment for the American people.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
The official Food and Drug Administration website.
U.S. Geological Survey
Unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water.
Understanding Evolution
This site helps people understand what evolution is, how it works, how it factors into life, how research in evolutionary biology is performed, and how ideas in this area have changed over time.
United Nations Environmental Program
Provides leadership and encourage partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations.
USDA Food Guidelines
Choose My Plate offers personalized eating plans, interactive tools to help you plan and assess your food choices.
USDA Nutrition Assistance Programs

Video Lectures
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
Video Version of Periodical Table
A high tech periodical table with clickable video clips about each element.
Vietnam Center and Archive
The mission of the Vietnam Center at Texas Tech University is to support and encourage research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam experience; promoting a greater understanding of this experience and the peoples and cultures of Southeast Asia.
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal primarily covers American economic and international business topics, and financial news and issues.
Some full text available
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 28.400 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available.
WebMD
WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information.
WildFinder
This application allows the user to visualize global distribution of animal species based on the World Wildlife Fund's terrestrial ecoregion maps.
WinkingSkull.com
WinkingSkull.com is an online study aid for must-know anatomy.
Wolfram MathWorld
MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
WolframAlpha
Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers— not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.
Wordnik
Wordnik is a place for all the words, and everything known about them. Our goal is to show you as much information as possible, as fast as we can find it, for every word in English, and to give you a place where you can make your own opinions about words known.
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. This website provides links to reports on global public health issues and key statistics, information on health topics, country profiles, and access to various fact sheets and publications.    
 
World History Sources
Website reviews describe online primary–source archives, evaluate resources, and provide classroom suggestions. Browse by time period or try the advanced search.
World of Chemistry
The World of Chemistry is appropriate for students taking high school or college chemistry, from introductory to advanced levels, and is easily applicable to different teaching approaches. It includes physics and Earth science components, and is also valuable for teachers seeking to review the subject matter.
World Wildlife Fund
WWF's mission is the conservation of nature. Using the best available scientific knowledge and advancing that knowledge where we can, we work to preserve the diversity and abundance of life on Earth and the health of ecological systems.
Zero to Three
ZERO TO THREE is a national, nonprofit organization that informs, trains, and supports professionals, policymakers, and parents in their efforts to improve the lives of infants and toddlers.
Questions?
Search Databases


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
SFX Findit = OpenURL Enabled
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files
ELM = ELM
eRef = eRef
eBook = eBook
Databases = Databases



Powered by SubjectsPlus

Faibault Campus
1225 Third Street SW
Faribault, MN 55021
Toll Free: 800-442-0391

North Mankato
1920 Lee Boulevard
North Mankato, MN 56003
Local: 507-389-7200
Toll Free 800-722-9359

South Central Online
Web: online.southcentral.edu
Email: online@southcentral.edu
Login: Desire2Learn

For TTY communication, contact the Minnesota Relay Service at 7-1-1 or 1-800-627-3529.
SCC is an affirmative action equal opportunity employer/educator. Non Discrimination Policy
Home  |   Sitemap
Copyright © 1995-2014 South Central College . All Rights Reserved
Member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System